I MINA'BENTE *NUEBI* NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) REGULAR SESSION

Resolution No. 215 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

J.P. Guthertz, DPA R. J. Respicio

B.J.F. Cruz

Frank F. Blas, Jr. Edward J.B. Calvo

James V. Espaldon

Mark Forbes

Frank T. Ishizaki

J. A. Lujan

Tina Rose Muña Barnes

A. B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

Dr. David L.G. Shimizu

Ray Tenorio

J. T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and congratulating those individuals selected as the "Outstanding Filipinos in Guam" by the University of the Philippines Alumni Association of Guam, who will be recipients of the first UPAG Community Awards and featured in their "Calendar 2009," showcasing the achievements of these individuals who are making a difference in our community.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN
- 2 GUÅHAN:

1 WHEREAS, the University of the Philippines Alumni Association of

2 Guam (UPAG) is a non-profit organization composed of graduates and

3 former students of the prestigious University of the Philippines,

4 internationally recognized as the Premier Educational Institution in the

5 Republic of the Philippines; and

WHEREAS, the UPAG was founded in 1980, and regularly engages its membership in many important activities involving scholarships, and sponsorship of seminars, and forums on significant issues, socio-cultural programs, major construction of a public facility, and providing assistance to victims of disaster and to the most needy in our society; and

WHEREAS, the UPAG's Recognition and Get-Together Night, to be held on January 4, 2009, will feature the launching of "Calendar 2009," a fundraiser project undertaken this year to recognize the remarkable achievements of Filipinos in their field of work as well as their contributions to our island community; and

WHEREAS, the recipients of the first UPAG Community Awards are honored in the calendar, one for each month of the year, and they are: January, Senator James Espaldon; February, Dr. Dometila Aquilizan; March, Bernie Schumann; April, Engineer Eduardo Ilao; May, Dr. Tita Alegria; June, Tessie Marcos; July, Melen Ruiz; August, Emelio Uy; September, Attorney Catherine Bejerana Camacho; October, Atilana Rambayon; November, Mark Vega Pangilinan; and December, Peter Loriega; and

WHEREAS, in the spirit of Bayanihan (Filipinos sharing common civic-1 2 oriented goals), the alumni group worked with a number of individuals and corporations to publish "Calendar 2009" in order to showcase the 3 achievements that make a difference in our community; now, therefore, be it 4 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does 5 6 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, extend its congratulations to the 7 twelve (12) individuals who have been selected as "Outstanding Filipinos in Guam", and who will be recipients of the first University of the Philippines 8 Alumni Association of Guam (UPAG) Community Awards; and be it further 9 RESOLVED, that I Liheslaturan Guåhan, on behalf of the people of 10 Guam, recognizes the remarkable achievements of these individuals in their 11 12 field of work as well as for their contributions to our island community; and 13 be it further RESOLVED, that I Liheslaturan Guåhan, on behalf of the people of 14 Guam, wholeheartedly thanks the University of the Philippines Alumni 15 16 Association of Guam (UPAG) for their many educational, civic and charitable works performed in Guam and in the Philippines over their nearly thirty (30) 17 18 years of organized effort; and be it further RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 19 20 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Senator James Espaldon; to Dr. Dometila Aquilizan; 21 22 to Bernie Schumann; to Eduardo Ilao; to Dr. Tita Alegria; to Tessie Marcos; to

- 1 Melen Ruiz; to Emelio Uy; to Attorney Catherine Bejerana Camacho; to
- 2 Atilana Rambayon; to Mark Vega Pangilinan; to Peter Loriega; to Dr. Meilou
- 3 T. Milligan, President, University of the Philippines Alumni Association of
- 4 Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 30TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, ED.D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature